The Caramel Treatment

Last summer, I was looking online for an all-natural conditioner that would give my hair a major boost in moisture and make it softer. I came across The Caramel Treatment and decided to give it a try after doing my homework and learning as much as I could about it. I wanted to make sure I was only conditioning and not altering my natural curl pattern.

Hair before caramel treatment

 I tried the treatment twice and I could really tell a difference in my hair. It was much softer, I experienced less shedding, and my curls were more defined. It is recommended to use this treatment no more than once a month. If used frequently, you may not be able to tell see the benefits of it.  The effects of this deep conditioning treatment last about 3-4 weeks on my hair.  I’m sure results will vary from person to person, depending on the texture, porosity, and overall condition of the hair.

This is the original recipe. I tweaked it to meet my needs and so can you!

Caramel Treatment—>Honey (6 tablespoons), Olive oil (6 tablespoons), molasses (3 tablespoons), bananas (2-3 overripe, soft), water(4-6 tablespoons), apple cider vinegar (1 tablespoon), cornstarch (1-2 tablespoons), wheat germ oil (1 tablespoon).                   

I had everything but the wheat germ oil so I substituted it with jojoba oil and almond oil. I mixed it all in a plastic bowl with a hand mixer and then poured it into a saucepan and placed it on the stove. I let it simmer for 30-60 second mixing rapidly with a plastic fork. I added more cornstarch as needed until it became the consistency I wanted. I poured it back into the plastic bowl and applied it to my hair in very small sections starting from the back. Sources suggest using an applicator brush to apply but I just used my fingers. Once my hair was completely saturated I covered it with a shower cap and left it on over night. (The first time I tried the caramel treatment I only left it on for 4 hours.)

Caramel Treatment

 

Hair saturated with caramel treatment.

 

I shampooed well with castile soap making sure I got all traces of the cornstarch and followed with a cholesterol conditioner. I could feel a difference when I was shampooing. I was able to finger comb through my hair with no snags at all. When I was rinsing the conditioner out, my hair felt heavier due to all the moisture it absorbed. My curls were definitely more defined and once I did my braidout and let it air dry, it was super soft. Almost like a fluffy, cottony texture. I was very pleased with the results. In the weeks following, I did several co-washes and a few shampoos. I didn’t feel the dryness return to my hair until around the third week.

Wet hair after caramel treatment

It made my hair feel soft like it does when I used to use Cantu Shea Butter leave-in, except my hair was soft like this on a daily basis without having to apply lots of product. (I stopped using Cantu because of some of the unnatural ingredients).

Dry hair after caramel treatment

 I would recommend this treatment to anyone who has really dry hair and is experiencing a  lot of breakage and shedding during styling. This treatment has also been recommended for those who are transitioning to natural hair or those who do relax their hair. The higher porosity of the hair allows it to absorb more of the benefits of the treatment and makes hair easier to straighten. Natural hair that has had not been color treated and has had minimal heat styling has lower porosity so it is harder for the treatment to penetrate the shaft, so leaving it on longer (like overnight) is advisable for best results. I would also recommend a trim before doing this treatment so you can give your healthy head of hair a great start!

Leave a Reply

